Publishing Round-up: 22nd May 2017

hely hutchinson 192x181Hely Hutchinson Retires, with Shelley Taking on Hachette CEO Role.

Tim Hely Hutchinson has announced he is retiring as CEO of Hachette UK, with David SHelley (CEO, Little, Brown Book Group and Orion) to take up the role. Hutchinson, who has been CEO of Hachette UK since it was founded in 2004 said “I have been superbly supported by Arnaud, my present and former colleagues and our authors throughout these golden years at Hachette and I could not possibly be more grateful. I know that David and his colleagues will do brilliantly when they take over and I wish them the very best of good fortune. I have always, since my early Macmillan days, loved being part of the publishing world because of its wonderful people and look forward to staying in touch with my author, agent and publishing friends and having time to enjoy my many outside interests with them.”

Read more here.


Speckled Pen Launch Remotekaren ball 192x181

Work Placement Scheme

The Speckled Pen Pal scheme enables candidates to work remotely and generate children’s book concepts. The company aims to promote diversity in publishing, and will pay members £50/week for a two-week placement. Founder Karen Ball said: ‘There are a lot of people talking about increasing diversity in publishing and not doing much about it. I was thinking about proactive things I could do to improve that and this seemed like a win-win solution: I get talented young people who are passionate about children’s books working with me, and they get insight into an interesting part of the industry.’

Read more here.


Dolan, Brookmyre and McDermidAward-Featured-Image

Make the Theakston Shortlist 

This years Theakston Prize shortlist features:

  • Black Widow by Chris Brookmyre
  • After you Die by Eva Dolan
  • Lie With Me by Sabine Durrant
  • Real Tigers by Mick Herron
  • Out of Bounds by Val McDermid
  • Missing, Presumed by Susie Steiner

Find out more here.

 


 

Canongate Books’ Jamie Byng jamie_haircut.1029x0-is

to Shave Hair for Charity

Jamie Byng announced that he’d be cutting his hair based upon funds raised for the The Howard League for Penal Reform. The fundraising comes to co-incide with the relaunch of Canongate’s website. Byng said: The ‘The work that The Howard League for Penal Reform does is unsung, unglamorous but extremely important. The more I learn about the different ways in which Frances Crook and her team are making a meaningful difference to the lives of people in prison and, as crucially, helping former inmates adjust to life on the outside, the more I appreciate the incalculable value of what this remarkable charity does. I could not be happier about supporting the Howard League with our website relaunch and hope that by agreeing to chop my locks we can raise lots of money to support their vital, wide-ranging activities.’

Read more here, or view the new site.
Leave a Reply

