#SYPScotBookClub: The Book That Changed Everything.

book club.png2016 marks 20 years since JK Rowling was signed to Bloomsbury. Harry Potter, published the following year, shook up generations of readers, and continues to do so. It’s such an important series, and was a defining point of many a childhood. So we want to know, what was that book for you? The one that stands out as something important in your life. Comment your pick and we’ll enter you in a draw to win some great books, as always! Tell us:

1. Book/author:
2. Why it’s so important:
3. For fans of:
4. Describe in 3 words:

Don’t forget to share your choice on Twitter with #SYPScotBookClub too! Keep up to date with us over on Twitter and Facebook.

3 thoughts on “#SYPScotBookClub: The Book That Changed Everything.

  1. I’ll just jump on in with what might be the first of 20zillion of the same pick!

    1. Book/author: Harry Potter & The Philosopher’s Stone – JK Rowling.

    2. Why it’s so important: I was brought up with books but this was the first book that turned me into a solo reader. I followed the series, I was desperate for the next books, I was just so caught up in it. Even re-reading it as an adult, I still remember being a little kid curled up with this (and disagreeing with my mum on the pronunciation of Hermione). I read this first book almost two decades ago (sigh), but HP has stuck with me.

    3. For fans of: The good things in life.

    4. Describe in 3 words: Magic for everyone.

    Like

  2. Patricio

    1. The Dark Tower Series, by Stephen King
    2. It’s a long story about life, destiny, and how we can change our life and follow our dreams, even in the darkest times.
    3. Epic stories
    4. Kah is a wheel (4 words, sorry!)

    Like

  3. Stephen Beagrie

    1. Book/author:

    Slaughterhouse 5 / Kurt Vonnegut.

    2. Why it’s so important:

    The book that changed my life (12 years old). Laughed, cried, laughed again. Devastated by the end. The first time I understood that such depth of emotion and high mindedness can go hand in hand with fun and even silliness (it’s a fun read, which shouldn’t be underestimated).

    As the man himself said “Laughter and tears are both responses to frustration and exhaustion. I myself prefer to laugh, since there is less cleaning do to do afterward.”

    It also gave me my first taste of Vonnegut (I devoured all of his other work) and the first mention of Dostoyevsky’s “The Brothers Karamazov”, which I soon looked out and wrestled with, thanks to Eliot Rosewater’s recommendation.

    God Bless You, Mr Rosewater!

    3. For fans of:

    The feeling of tragedy / joy / truth / all at once that only great literature and fiction gives you.

    4. Describe in 3 words:

    So it goes.

    Like

Leave a Reply

